Skip to content
How do you know if ...

Notifications
Clear all

How do you know if you're making progress????

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@bb-bill)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Years ago I sold my guitar when my wife and I were first married and
having kids, etc. I didn't have time (or at least didn't think I did). But
three years ago I bought a another guitar (strat) and have been playing
again.

Last night I made a comment to my wife that I think I've improved a lot
since I started playing again and she said "but you've only learned 5
new songs!" That made me think - she's right. I don't know many songs
from beginning to end. I don't sing - at least not in front of people :wink:
So I've been focusing on blues/rock lead, technique like bending,
vibrato, etc, scales, and lead improvasation. Before three years ago
I couldn't improvise blues lead, but now I can play along with just about
any 12 bar blues song.

So, I think I've improved, but my question is how important is learning
complete songs? I would love to play in a band and do some open mic
stuff eventually. What is the best thing I can do to improve your playing
when you don't have anyone else to play with? I've been playing along
with CDs and background tracks, etc.

Thanks for your input!

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

It's important, I think, but it's not the whole story either. Knowing five songs well is better than knowing just bits and pieces of 15 songs. I think it sounds like you're right on track and making good progress. But it can't hurt to learn some songs along the way too.
Hope that helps.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@call_me_kido)
Estimable Member