How important are scales?

35 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
15.8 K Views
(@ness-k)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Alright I've been playing for a couple years now and I'm proudly mediocre but one of my weak spots is scales...like just how important are they to your skill as a player? I mean I know that they help in soloing but is that all? Just curious

"The Beauty of Music is my Sanity. Without it, I would simply lose my gravity, and blow away with the breeze." - Ness K(Aka Matt Harris)

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Think about it this way... the 'standard' guitar has 19 frets (which means that almost all guitars have at least that many), times six strings. You've got 114 places to make a sound. That's a lot of choices.

Scales let you organize the fretboard. If you want a particular sound, you choose a scale associated with it - and roughly half those notes won't be up for consideration.

By allowing fewer choices, scales help focus what you can do with your melody. Instead of being overwhelmed with the possibilities, you can narrow down just a few choices into (hopefully) the right one for your next note.

So that's really the practical reason for learning them. They can also be important as a yardstick for comparison - especially the major scale. Chord spellings and other scale formulas are easier to grasp when you view them against a single standard.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@minus_human)
Reputable Member

I'd say they are, i never thought they were when i started - i was only into playing riffs etc.. :D
But on the whole knowing them now they made me a better player all round.

And all the things you said to me
I need your arms to welcome me
But a cold stone's all I see

Let my heart go

ReplyQuote
(@neztok)
Estimable Member