Clear all

How the Electric Guitar Killed My Technique

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@gabrialkhan)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone,,
As some of you know I just got a new acoustic and it really pointed out one thing to me....my playing has really deteriorated in the last 4 or 5 months. The story...

I started playing about 4 years ago and, up until about a year ago, only played acoustic. By no means was I good but I could play most of my chords cleanly (including various barre chords beyond major and minor A and E shapes), could do a bit of fingerpicking and fooled around with acoustic lead. Then I got an electric guitar and pretty much abandoned the acoustic. after about 8 months of playing exclusively electric I decided I wanted to play acoustic stuff again-I missed picking it up and strumming some chords and actually having it sound like music. So I picked up my old Dean starter acoustic and HATED it. I didn't want to play it so I went back to the electric until I had the money for a new, decent guitar. I bought it the other day...

Now my technique is shot. My playing is sloppy and chords aren't ringing true. I've been practicing as much as I can fit into my schedule the last day... even to the point where last night my fretting hand was sore, something I haven't felt in a long time. I still can't get over the fact how SLOPPY I got when I relied on the electric (even though I always played the clean channel).

So guys....
1. Has this happened to any of you before?
2. How do I remedy this? I intend to practice hard but this really shook me.

showbox.bio/ tutuapp.uno/ vidmate.vet/

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Hey there Gabriel!