How to get started teaching?

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@progressions)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I know this has been addressed some on these forums, but I'm wondering if you could offer some advice on what specifically I should do to get started teaching guitar?

I've been playing for around 15 years and I know what I'm doing, but I'm not a virtuoso. I love playing and I love teaching but I haven't taught guitar before. I have experience working with kids and I've got a moderate level of music theory.

I'm in Austin, Texas, which intimidates me a bit, since I kinda feel like everyone here knows how to play already! :)

What should I do to start? Should I work from a book, like a Mel Bay book?

I've had people suggest that I contact music stores about working with them to teach, is that a worthwhile approach?

Thanks for any pointers. It would mean a hell of a lot to me to be able to make this work.

Jeff

Isaac Priestley: World Racketeering Squad
http://www.progressions.org/
http://www.youtube.com/worldracketeer

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Working with music stores is a very good way to get students.

Ads in local school papers have worked well for me, as have adds in the local weekly local news.

I've not had much luck from posters and flyers.

But every area is different. You'll need to experiment and figure out where the students are, and get them to call you. That's the hard part about starting.

Once you've got some regular students, start offering them 2 free lessons if they recommend a friend to sign up for at least 1 lesson. Word of mouth for me has always been the best advertising.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

We found the music school that we signed my son up for via a flyer we got in the mail.