Skip to content
How to put what's i...

Notifications
Clear all

How to put what's in my head, on the fretboard?

16 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@abluenote)
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I'm new here... I've been playing guitar for about 10 years. Started with classical guitar, then acoustic fingerstyle and these days it's mostly electric.

I still have a hard time when I have a musical idea in my head and I try to put it down on guitar.

Most of the times it's decent enough, but it's not what I had imagined. If I could sing, I'd sing the part and then listen back to it and transpose it on guitar.

Do you have any particular tips or methods that you use to achieve this?

How do you take a complete musical idea from your head, to the fretboard?

Thanks

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

learn the fretboard.

ReplyQuote
(@abluenote)
Topic starter  

learn the fretboard.

Descriptive advice.Thanks for taking the time to contribute.

ReplyQuote
(@doremifa)
Estimable Member

Well, I would break it down into blocks, and one block at a time, find the notes on the fretboard and write it down. It may be a pain now but it will get easier as you do this more and more... There's no magic trick, just a ton of patience and dedication to the music. :)

Download a bunch of cheat sheets and posters: http://stevesmusiclist.com/

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

learn the fretboard.

It's not a flippant comment. If you don't know where to find that sound on the fretboard, or can't hear if the note you're playing is the same/ higher/ lower than the note you want, or don't know how to get to the sound you want when the note you're playing isn't what's in your head, then you're going to find it very difficult.

Start with a well-tuned guitar and listen to the sound it makes - too many students just want to dive in to playng stuff.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk