Clear all

i was invited to join a band today...

24 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@vempyre)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

our school and a few others being out on an excursion (the career's expo....they're trying to help us decide what we want to become, but only making us more confused..), some chap approached me and asked me if i was a guitarist.

i asked how he guessed, and he pointed to my shirt (the Fender bird and logo). without much further ado at all really he asked me if i would be interested in joining his thrash metal band. i told him quite honestly that i'm really just a beginner and i've only been at it for a while, and that i wouldn't really feel up to it.. but he told me that he'd only been playing seriously for a couple of months himself, and that it doesn't really matter as long as i can play power chords fast ...

he gave me his phone number and email address, and told me to think about it... and now this is where i'm stuck. should i join a band with people i've never seen or spoken to before in my life, of a genre that i'm not particularly interested in... while being almost a total beginner? (it's not that i don't like metal but i like to wear as many hats as i can ..)

i'm scared to talk to him again because of this, but at the same time i'm afraid because i might never get another chance to join a band. i don't have many friends where i live, and none of them are particularly interested in music... also what really struck a chord with me was that this was at the careers' expo ....... what should i do? :(

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Normally I would say 'just do it'. However, since that guy said 'all you need to do is play powerchords fast' I would give it a second thought. Does that sound like the kind of music you want to play? If so, go. If not, thank him and carry on. There'll be other chances later on, don't feel forced to jump on this one.

ReplyQuote
(@simonhome-co-uk)
Prominent Member