Notifications
Clear all

Ideas on progressing

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blackjack)
Topic starter  

Hi there, I am not sure if I am posting this in the right place or not - whether it should be in the beginners section or even the special ladies section.

I have been playing for a couple of years now and feel like I have kind of stagnated. I can play most popular open chords competently and confidently, I will happily tackle learning a new song, I am happy to sing. Most of my playing is still basic strumming at the moment, with a few little bits of plucking thrown in to the odd song that needs it. I am struggling with barre chords but practising with those. I have had a first lesson with a new tutor who I am hoping is going to be able to polish up what I am doing and help me move forwards eventually.

I play twice a week with my neighbours, one of whom plays guitar a bit and the other who is an excellent drummer but has just started to learn to play keyboards to play with us. We have a lot of fun but neither of the guys are particularly ambitious or anything and are quite happy to just plod along as they are. I would not want to stop playing with them as we do have fun but...

OK, so now you know where I am at, has anyone got any ideas of I personally can push my playing forward to the next level. the guy I am having the lessons with is really good but not cheap so I can only have one or two lessons a month with him at the most and a lot of what we are doing is theory based. I feel a bit like I am stuck in a loop of wanting to move forwards but not knowing how to go about it and would really appreciate any help anyone can suggest. I would quite like to be able to do the odd open mic night but not sure if I would be good enough for that yet either.

As I said, any help, ideas or suggestions would be great thank you.

(@blackjack)
Topic starter  

Really disappointed that out of the 120+ people that have read this, nobody has come up with any suggestions!