Skip to content
Is a 3 piece solid ...

Notifications
Clear all

Is a 3 piece solid body something to worry about?

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@crkt246)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I'm thinking about geting a std ash tele and one of the reviews said that it had a three piece body and I waned to know if that was some thing to worry about.
Thanks and God Bless :D :D :D

(@citizennoir)
Noble Member

Hi crkt :D

IMO - Not a thing to worry about.

Traditionally, Tele's have been made of a solid one piece body....
And ash is the wood of choice for that traditional Tele sound.

Where-as Strats have been traditionally made of two piece (ash) and then three piece (alder) bodies.

The multi-piece bodies of the Strat lend it a more transparent sound than the one piece Tele's....
Unfortunately, I have no experience with multi-piece bodies on Tele's....
They should sound just fine though :wink:

If your asking if that means that it's an inferior building process ~ No, it's not.

Ken

"The man who has begun to live more seriously within
begins to live more simply without"
-Ernest Hemingway

"A genuine individual is an outright nuisance in a factory"
-Orson Welles

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I wouldn't worry about the fact it's made from three pieces - if Fender thought it was sub-standard, they wouldn't let it get as far as the shops. I really don't see what difference it makes - then again, I'm not one of those people who can tell subtle differences in tone that are down to different woods/construction. And you know what? I'll stick my neck out and say 99.99% of the human race couldn't, either.

Besides, these days, a lot of amps are modelling amps - I can make my Tele sound like a Strat, an SG or an LP just by fiddling with the settings on my Roland Cube 30X. Hell, I can even make it sound like a 12-string acoustic.

As always, the golden rule - try before you buy. If it feels good, and sounds good, buy it - if it doesn't, don't!

:D :D :D

Vic