Clear all

Is leading a band always this hard?

23 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
 Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

This is a great thread...and I can see it woke us all up!

Hey, I've been married for twenty years to the same gal...and it would be an understatement to say that we've had some "rough bits". But there's just two of us...not four...or five...or whatever...like in a band. It's a marriage, of sorts. Tough at some times...but there's also magic lurking in there somewhere!

There should be some serious "end goals" set out within the group. Do you just want to gig? Just jam? Come up with platinum? Sort it out/replace members that don't share the same goal/get on with it. You cannot hitch two oxen front-to-back in a yolk and get a field plowed.

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@bobblehat)
Reputable Member

Re: Is leading a band always this hard?

Its as hard as you make it!

I've been playing in various bands for the last 20 years and with my current band for the last five years.Most of my previous bands were destroyed by petty arguements.Its amazing how musicians can argue about something they supposedly love doing.

In my current band I suppose I am the "band leader" only because its a three peice and I am the singer/guitarist.
Before myself and the drummer started the band we sat down over several beers and came up with a general a set of guidelines for how the band would work.For example if somebody's got something they have to do on a rehearsal night eg. family commitments,work etc then that comes before the band.The same applies to gigs.

The only rule I had when we started the band was that "the first arguement would be the last"
Five years on and not one arguement.