Is this normal

16 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys,
Ok heres the deal. I was changing strings on my cool royal blue squier fat strat that I bought about 2 years ago when I started playing and noticed something on the frets that caught my eye. On the earlier frets, ie- 1,2,3 I noticed that they had been rubbed down a little by the strings, so the metal fret is now permanently flat instead of rounded! I have not noticed any sound difference, but is this normal?? Hopefully you guys know what I'm talking about. Thanks guys.

Thanks Dudes!
Keep on Rockin'

Pat

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Yes, that is perfectly normal.

After many years, your frets can develop deep grooves that do cause a problem. My '91 Strat got such deep grooves in some frets that I had to raise the action a little to keep from getting fret buzz on the next higher fret. I went to a Luthier to see about a full re-fret, he wanted over $350! So I ended up buying a replacement neck. Just like new again.

But you sound like you are a long way from that. I wouldn't worry about some of the frets being worn a little.

Here is some badly worn frets.

Worn Frets

My frets were actually much worse than these shown.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

he wanted over $350!

That guy should be shot. I just had a fret dress done for 100 (taxes in) on my acoustic and it would have been 12 dollars a fret for a refret. I probably would have needed 12 frets, so 350 seems crazy.

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

fret wear is normal. mine are dished a bit because I use so much vibrato.
unless they are so worn as to cause buzz dont worry.
think of it as a badge of regular and good playing.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member