Clear all

learning mechanically vs. learning by feel

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@patrick)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Even though I've been learning for 11 years, I'm a slow learner so I'm still closer to beginner level than intermediate. I like mainly rock, and when learning a song, I try my best to consciously know what I'm doing...for example I'll try to think to myself "okay this is the I chord, next is the IV chord, then the V chord" ...or "this double stop is made up of the root and flatted seven from the V7 chord, so I can think of it as a partial V7 chord..."

But when learning a song, my mind is so consumed with memorizing and programming my hands to remember what to physically do (muscle memory), I never fully grasp and understand what I am doing on a theory level ...I miss out on the big picture. When I practice and play, it's mainly just re-playing the hand motions that I've programmed from hours and hours of poring over the tab and repetition until I can do it without thinking. It's largely a mechanical programming & recall thing rather than a 'music flowing from the heart' thing. Once I learn a song, I can play it decently well, but it's like I'm a painter who is doing a paint-by-numbers painting rather than painting something using purely my creative juices.

So my question is: when learning and playing a song, is it still largely a repetitive, mechanical / muscle memory thing even for experienced players?

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

I would say so.

It's pretty hard to feel creative when learning somebody else's song.

Like you I always need to know what's going on theory wise, I need to feel I understand it. Sometimes I will throw my own solos or fills in if I'm playing with the band, which does help me feel a bit more creative, but generally learning somebody else's song takes a lot of memorizing for me anyway.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."