Notifications
Clear all

lefty, i need help

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@beefy)
Topic starter  

im new to guitars and im a lefty.im thinking of getting an esp viper 50.because the only place around me that sells guitars dont have much lefty , the salesperson said he would re-string it for me. u guys think thats a good idea?

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

If that's all they're going to do, it's a bad idea.

Plenty of lefties have played right-handed guitars that have been re-strung... AND set up for left handed play. You'll still have to deal with the placement of controls, but people adjust.

Look at that ESP... look at two places in particular:

- the nut. See how the slots are cut deeper for the bass strings? If all he does is a string swap, you'll get buzzing from the treble strings and high action from the bass strings. It'll never play or feel right without a new nut, properly cut for left handed stringing.

- the bridge. See how the saddle slants away from the peghead on the bass strings? That's because bass strings actually need to be a little longer to compensate for the length of the vibration - strings don't actually start to vibrate at the last point of contact (nut or saddle), but slightly beyond that - and the fatter the string, the bigger that 'slightly' is. The saddle pieces on the ESP are adjustable to make fine adjustments to your intonation, but the overall bridge is slanted because fine adjustments aren't quite enough to compensate for string diameter. Without re-positioning the bridge to slant the other direction, you probably won't get the intonation right...

So what he's really suggesting is that he'll sell you that guitar in a condition that makes it hard to play and out of tune, and let you worry about it from there.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member