Looking For New Acoustic Advice

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Hi All,
I've been learning on an electric for about 8-10 months. It's been fun so far, but a couple of the songs that I'm trying to learn were done with Acoustic. I've been looking around in the $400 range and came across a Ibanez AW300, and am leaning towards that one.

Has anyone played this, or have any other suggestions in that price range?

Thanks

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

(@sinister_hack)
Eminent Member

That's a decent price. I've seen some Taylors and Martins priced in that range.

I don't care for them too much but Ovation has a model or two in that price point.

Now, I'm left handed so the model I played was probably more moola than the right handed counterpart but I played a nice Alvarez that I loved for $300. I was very impressed by the sound and the playability of it. It might be worth checking out some of them.

Of course, take all of this with the knowledge that I'm a screamin' newbie :D

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Do yourself a favour. Save a few more dollars (or go second hand :wink: ) and get a Larrivee. Absolutely fantastic sound no matter what model.

Buck for buck, there is no comparison to Martin's or Taylors in this price bracket, the Larrivee will outplay them, I would bet my shirt (damn, where's that short gone....?) on it.

All the best

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@jim_v)

I agree with the recommendation to go used. You'll save a lot of money and unless you intend to keep the guitar for life, a warranty probably won't be an issue.