Clear all

Making switch from Acoustic to Electric

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@brian-f)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about two years now, but entirely acoustic stuff, and I want to start playing electric. I actually bought a LP Studio a little over a year ago, but I don't play it. It never felf comfortable to me, always a little awkward. The neck seemed so narrow, the strings seemed so limp, and I felt that if I even looked at the pups it would make a noise (no room for error on my part). Well, I learned as an acoustic strummer, so I guess my "style" or approach doesnt fit the electric right now.

So, my thought is this: find an electirc with a closer feel to my acoustic to make the transition easier. After goofing around at the local GC, I realized that the Tele and strats both have the same scale length and width at nut as my acoustic (25.5" and 1-11/16"). They also seemed to feel like the strings were a heavier guage, and the whole set-up felt a lot more natural to me. I like the HSS strat as they offer a wide array of tones, and I like playing lots of different stuff (mostly classic rock, country, blues; some hair metal, etc.).

So now I need to learn some stuff that will translate to electric so I can go play some guitars at the GC before buying. This is very daunting to me as everytime I pick up an electric I feel like I'm holding a guitar for the first time.

Has anyone found the Fenders to make the transition from acoustic to electric easier? Are there other Elecrics that may do the same thing (semi-hollows)?

(My current amp is VoxAD30VT)

Any recommendations on easy songs to learn on electric so I can go play around with some fenders (or other) and get the right guitar for me? (I bought the LP sight unseen)

Thanks for any advice, input, etc.

B

(@embrace_the_darkness)
Honorable Member