Clear all

my first Martin

26 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@asasmith)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

went and got my first Martin today!! (love that tax man) yea its just a DX1R (those HD-28's are sweet if you got the coin) but theres something about that headstock and logo thats gets me everytime i look at it. sounds better than i wouldve thought too. not a noticeable difference between it and other quality brands in the same price range. not real big on the strings but ive been playing .13-.56's almost since i started playing a little more than a year ago. plays nice and has a good feel too. not a strap button insight though. i wonder what they charge for those:)

"its supposed to be pickin and grinnin. NOT pickin and scowlin"
-the feez

(@akflyingv)
Honorable Member

Congrats on the Martin!

I've never owned a Martin but I thought/assumed that they always gave you the strap buttons in the case but never installed them on the guitar. I assumed that they left them off so that someone wouldn't scratch the other guitars that were hanging on the wall near it. Just my assumption but I'm usually wrong.

ReplyQuote
(@asasmith)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

didnt even come with a case (base model). the salesman told me the cases were ridiculously expensive. theres a hole in the body where the pin would go (i guess) but he said that a block had to be installed??? i figured that i could just put the other side in on heel of the neck myself. i dont know how id go about the one on the body. didnt even really think about it till now. i guess i was in the heat of the moment when i was writing the check. lesson learned i guess

-the feez

ReplyQuote
(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member

congrats! I notice you said..your first martin.... Are you implying that there's many more to come?!?! :)

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member