Notifications
Clear all

Need A Teacher?

23 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Here is an article that points out the pros and cons of having, and not having a teacher. They also call it "Self-Guided Study" which is probably more accurate than self-taught.

http://www.mamimusic.com/studying_guitar.htm

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

As you can tell by my multiple posts in this, I am interested in the topic.

I see everyone's point. I appreciate everyone's point.

Some background now that everything's been said. I tried the lesson thing twice, each time for a month. Hated it. One instructor could not get past my hand position, and I could not get past my age & joints bothering me when doing what he "asked" me to do. The other guy was just somewhere different than I wanted to be. I spoke up to both of them. It just didn't click.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

I tried the lesson thing twice, each time for a month. Hated it. One instructor could not get past my hand position, and I could not get past my age & joints bothering me when doing what he "asked" me to do. The other guy was just somewhere different than I wanted to be. I spoke up to both of them. It just didn't click.