Clear all

Need some direction.....

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@saturnthegiant)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm a 41 year old whose been playing guitar on/off for the past few years, but only what i would call seriously for the past couple of years. I call myself self-taught, but play by ear. I have good timing from growing up singing in church. I consider myself a decent rhythm player, and basically just started by learning chords and getting some tab books, then later getting tabs online. I just kinda know a lot of PARTS of songs. I can flatpick on my acoustic pretty decently, and can do a pretty mean version of Tennessee Flat Top Box :) . I just started picking up my electric again. I've kinda been going it alone since i don't really know anyone in my area to play with, and the one buddy i had to jam around with just started a new job with different hours from me. I don't have any real understanding of music notation, theory, etc. I have played around with a few scales, mostly minor pentatonic. I guess my problem is i feel so....limited. To me my playing sounds boring. I really never bothered to learn all the notes on the fretboard, although i can usually tell you what key i'm in. :? I've been doing more reading here than posting, so I wondered if anyone could give me an idea of what direction to go in. I know that's probably a hard question to answer without having heard me play, but i guess i'm asking what order did you learn things in? Chord structure, scales, modes, theory??? I hope my ??'s make some sense.... :oops:

(@staffan)
Estimable Member