Notifications
Clear all

New Guy

22 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@chilly-well-water)
Topic starter  

I just found this forum and from what I've seen you all seem like a pretty nice and helpful group. No one has called anybody an a$$hat, so that's good.

I've been playing for just over two years, using an Ovation AE Celebrity and an Epiphone Les Paul. My taste ranges all over the place, but I find myself listening to (and trying to play) Grateful Dead, Widespread Panic, Drive by Truckers, all sorts of Bluegrass, Dwight Yoakam, Willie, Waylon, Johnny, etc. more often than not.

I've got the common open chords and E and A based barre and power chords down, but I have no idea about how to go about playing lead, other than pentatonic, which just not seem to be enough, hence my reason for joining the forum. I doubt I'll post much, but feel that I'll get good advice whenever I do. Also, it never hurts to see what other folks are into.

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN.

You will find that there is a large variety of talent here to match your wide variety of interests. Don't forget to check out the lessons on the main page and by all means ask any questions you have.

And to comment on your one statement. There is no flaming here. The mods put a stop to that real quick.

Enjoy your stay

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

welcome to GN!

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@twistedfingers)
Honorable Member

Yep, Welcome to the best guitar forum on the net. :D

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- "WOW--What a Ride!"

ReplyQuote
(@u2bono269)
Noble Member

Yes welcome!

http://www.brianbetteridge.com

ReplyQuote
(@chilly-well-water)
Topic starter