Notifications
Clear all

Ouch! Cramps...

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@g29knight)
Topic starter  

I have been playing guitar for abotu 3 years now and have really started playing alot in the last few months. The problem is that recently I have noticed that the "meaty" part of my thumb starts to cramp up alot after just a few songs (and sometimes a few chords). Does anyone have any suggestions that will possibly help me get rid of this cramping? I have checked my guitar for the proper setup and several guitar experts say that the guitar is setup correctly for me.

God Blesses Everyone with a talent use it to glorify Him,

George Knight

(@guitarteacher)
Trusted Member

Left hand or Right?

If you want to be good, practice. If you want to be great, you must constantly change the way you think.

ReplyQuote
(@akflyingv)
Honorable Member

acoustic or electric?

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

"After a few chords" was mentioned; probably the chording hand.

You might be squeezing too hard. Also, check the angle of your shoulders; sometimes the side connected to your chording hand will start to lift as you're going along. That throws all the 'hinges' off a bit, making you over compensate.

It could just be thumb position; playing at the beginning didn't make it noticeable; now that you're playing a lot, it's starting to become a problem. And if you don't rest up enough between practice sessions, the pain could appear right away.

Sometimes a new, more advanced technique you're getting into - like bending notes more - can push things a little bit too.

Hope this makes sense.

ReplyQuote
(@g29knight)
Topic starter  

Yes, you are correct it is on my fretting hand. I played tonight for church and noticed it was not as bad. But it did progessively get worst. I also noticed that the meat of the thumb was resting on the back of the neck...instead of the thumb on the back of the neck. Could this be the problem?

Thanks in advance for you help in this matter... :?