Pain in the Back !?!

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@avikchaks)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hey ..
i'm a newbie on the acoustic but i am experiencing back pain on thr right side and also some pain the in the right hand biceps area.. the left side is perfectly fine.. i try to sit absolutely straight .. wat cud be the problem ?

pls advice !!!

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

You mean of the fretting hand? Could either be that you're using muscles you haven't used before much (just like starting to do some fitness excersises after not having done much sport for years) or it could be that your posture is not totally correct and you're putting additional strain on your hand. Usually it is a mix. If the pain is a sharp and intense immediately stop playing and consult your doctor.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

It could also be that you're too tense....I sometimes find, especially when I'm working on a new song, that I'm concentrating so hard I forget to relax, and end up with backache....

Like Arjen said, good posture is important....but try and relax too...and don't forget to breathe!!!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@lotto-king)
Prominent Member

yeah agreeing here also loosen up , try not to be so tense this is fun not hard work , ( it's only hard when starting out )

cheers

Aghhhh

Not only am I a senior citizen

I'm now a bloody senior member

Are you people trying to tell me I'm old or what ?

over 700 posts ( I really do need to get out more )

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

I agree with Vic. Sometimes I'll feel my neck straining or my arms are too stiff...You may not realized you are so tense. When you feel the pain just stop a minute and take a dep breath and close your eyes to relax. Let your arms hang loose.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member