Clear all

Pickups?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@maddmodder)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey everyone. Recently I've been thinking about upgrading pickups in my Squier '51. I like the ones I have but I'm looking for something with a little more "umph" (if that makes sense). I also want a more distinct transition between pups. For the HB I'm looking for a real 70's and 80's classic rock tone, and for the SC I'm looking for a heavier blues kind of tone. Something with a little more crunch that the stock pups. So far all I've really been told to look for are anything with PAF in the name for the humbucker. I'm pretty much just looking for different types to look at and narrow down. It'd be great if you guys could just help to get the ball rolling because I'm new to the pickup thing and I'm pretty clueless as to what pup does what. Well I guess thats it. Thanks for helping out! :D

(@u2bono269)
Noble Member

seymour duncan makes virtual vintage model single coils that are good for blues

http://www.brianbetteridge.com

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

I put some GFS pickups from GuitarFetish.com on a MIM Strat and cannot be more pleased.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@the-dali)
Noble Member

Modder, my suggestion:

Bill Lawrence L500 or L510 from the 1970's in the bridge. These can be had on eBay for $49.99 NEW (new old stock). Other than that, you could look for a Gibson 490T or Gibson 498T. Both are classic pickups that produce excellent classic rock sound. The Gibson's can be had for around $50 - 60 (used). And don't forget the Dimarzio Super Distortion. It is THE classic rock pickups.

For the bluesy sound at the neck, you could easily do worse than a Fender Texas Special. You can get a neck Texas Special for $35.

-=- Steve