Notifications
Clear all

Playing a half step down problem(s).

33 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

To be honest I've never used a capo. I'm just going by what I've heard other people say about them/

I suggest listening less to what people say and try more yourself. Imagine Hendrix just going by what people said at the time!

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Imagine Hendrix just going by what people said at the time!

"Get that bloody thumb behind the neck - you'll never be a decent guitarist if you play with it on the fretboard all the time!"

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@tommy-guns)
Honorable Member

Hey Vic, that is a great suggestion. I've never tried changing the key using a capo before. Honestly I've never needed to. We do use a capo on (1) song "Wreck Me" by Tom Petty and I'm not opposed to using one on any other song(s). I am opposed to all of the "push back" I get from the other band mates on "changing things" though. What happens is I hear from them "it changes the 'feel' of the song, it takes away the (insert your favorite musical reference here)."

Honestly it's not really worth it to me. Maybe my next band will be more open minded.

Ambition is the path to success...persistence is the vehicle you arrive in!!!

ReplyQuote
(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Imagine Hendrix just going by what people said at the time!

"Get that bloody thumb behind the neck - you'll never be a decent guitarist if you play with it on the fretboard all the time!"

Vic
Lol.

I don't always Sleutelbos, that's what I was being slightly sarcastic. I was in the music store the other day and had the urge to buy one for about $3 just to see what I could do with it.

>_> So yea back on topic.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Kevin 72790 wrote; "So yea back on topic."