Skip to content
Playing guitar for ...

Notifications
Clear all

Playing guitar for several years and hit a brick wall....

14 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@alextin)
Topic starter  

Hi gang. I'm BRAND new to the forum. I found it just by searching for guitar players forums on Google. I've been playing since 1998. I started out using the guitar merely as stress relief but in recent years I've tried to take things a little more seriously. I read most of the magazines, i.e. Guitar One, Guitar World, etc. Guitar players I admire include Joe Walsh, Steve Cropper, Doyle Bramhall II, SRV, EC among others. My gear list includes a Fender 60's strat re-issue. G&L Tribute Tele, MIM Strat that I've stripped down to the bare wood and had Hot Rails pickups installed, Epiphone Sheraton II and a Garrison acoustic guitar. Amp wise I have a Fender Princeton Chorus and an Ampeg Retrorocket. I don't use effects much, but when I do, I use the BOSS SD-1, BOSS Blues Driver or BOSS Digital Delay.

Ok enough of that. The reason I'm posting here is because I've seemed to hit a brick wall as far as playing goes. I don't feel like I'm getting anywhere lately. Like I'm repeating myself. I try to look up new scales and modes to expand my playing a bit, but I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. Am I stuck in a pentatonic rut? I like mainly blues style songs and some hard rock. I just can't seem to progress at all. I'm writing to you all, since I'm sure there are some out there that have had the same problem I'm having right now. What can I do to prevent stagnation in my playing? Is there anything I can do to revitalize my playing?

Anyway, I thank you all for reading my rant. I hope there's someone out there that can help...

Alex

Do it for the phat lady!

(@daniel-lioneye)
Reputable Member