Notifications
Clear all

Playing leftie and righty?

33 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Look at snowboarders, you either do it rightie or what they call I think goofy foot which is lefty. All you are doin is standing up yet everybody has their preferred way based on their dominant side.

I assume your rightie, if we put a left handed quitar in your hands could you play to the level you play now? Do you honestly beleive you could play equally well both ways given the time? I'd say no, you'd always play better one way or the other.

You forget that with guitar, violin or any such string instrument you are forced to use both hands, and both will be required to perform complex tasks. To get to a reasonable level both hands need to reach a certain level of proficiency so in the long run it doesn't matter at all. Had I started learning lefty I would most likely have had less trouble fretting and more trouble picking. As reality shows us the real strength of players does not depend on their dominant hand but on the ammount of practice devoetd to that hand: my fretting hand is better developped then my picking hand, and the same goes for most right-handed players. Our non-dominant hand is better developped because as a beginner we tend to over-estimate the importance of the fretting hand (which hand do you look at when watching a concert DVD?).

When it comes to activities where you have to chose between one or the other going for the dominant side is typical, atleast in the western culture. For example, in football (or soccer) most western players have a strong preference for one foot, which is developed a lot. The non-dominant foot is usually very, very weak. In Japan kids are trained with both feet, which means that their dominant side is less then their western counterpart but their non-dominant side is much better. It's more cultural then anything and nobody really knows for sure which approach is best.