0 Likes
(@infamous16)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Right now I'm working on;

Reject Yourself-Killswitch Engage
and
Under the Bridge-RHCP

Can anyone suggest some other stuff? I'm really looking for non-metal stuff that is hard but not too hard. I've been playing for a couple years, but Haven't been playing much lately. I'd like to do myself a favor and start practicing and get GOOD. What practice techniques do you guys and gals recommend that work well? Right now I just sit down and start playing the song, are you supposed to just go into that, or is there some sort of warmp-up part to it?

blah.

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

What and how I practise depends on what I specifically want to achieve. First I define my goals, then plan my path, - easy! Then I try to follow the path without wandering off it. That bit's not nearly so easy :lol:

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

I'm working on the song Alison by Elvis Costello. It's a good bar chord song, at least as I'm learning it. Fake Plastic Trees by Radiohead is a good song to know.

ReplyQuote
(@ab0msnwman)
Estimable Member

One thing I might suggest is analyzing the songs you are playing.

Why does "Under the Bridge" sound good? What chords is John using and why do they flow together well?

You might discover a whole new aspect of the guitar. And you'll be getting the gears in your head turning while you are also playing!

ReplyQuote
(@infamous16)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

One thing I might suggest is analyzing the songs you are playing.

Why does "Under the Bridge" sound good? What chords is John using and why do they flow together well?

You might discover a whole new aspect of the guitar. And you'll be getting the gears in your head turning while you are also playing!

Thats a good idea. I don't really know how to figure out what chords he's using, but I'm sure they have something in common....Help me out?

blah.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member