Problems.

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hawkfoggy)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys.

I've been seeing a patern lately. all the time i pick up the guitar i play the same thing. i've tried to branch out and just got more board. this may be for more of the experienced players. did any of you guys go through this like a phase or something

"I'm as free as a bird now. And this bird you can not change" Free Bird, By: Lynyrd Skynyrd
GIT SNAKE BIT!!!
stay safe

(@racetruck1)
Honorable Member

Yep, it happened a lot to me when I first started. :evil: :?

What I've found that works for me is to change styles, if you are a rock n roller, try some jazz, country, try funk, acoustic, try electric....etc. Sometimes just a little change in styles will open up all new worlds. Besides, it will keep you on your toes and give you a lot more tools to apply to your playing. I was getting a little stale and was really getting a little bored then I started playing a little (very little!) jazz type thingies. You know, clean up the gain, roll off the tone and play a couple of old show tunes. :shock: I worked at it and probably really sounded bad, but my accuracy and speed benefited from it, and my distorted tones really started sounded better.

Steak and potatoes are great but a salad once in a while is good too!

When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming......
like the passengers in his car.

ReplyQuote
(@denny)
Reputable Member

When I hear a song I like, I write the name down (getting forgetful), then I'll get the song and work on it. For that, I like the TAB sites because they're a nice headstart.
I've also found a lot of things on VH1.

ReplyQuote
(@hawkfoggy)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Thank you guys so much!! Really, another one of my problems have been trying to make my songs sound popular or poppy or whatever. and you know how that can be. thank you very much