Clear all

Question about pickups

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@greg232)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I am new to playing guitar. I have this Fender: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/511275/
I was wondering how everyone rates this guitar. But, my main question is if I changed the pickups what affect does it have on the sound and tone of this guitar. I like playing Pink Floyd, Dire Straits, to modern rock Creed, etc. Basically classic rock to current stuff. I have the Vox AD30VT amp. I know it has 3 single coil pickups. What to humbuckers sound like? Some people I saw used Fender Noiseless pickups. Do I change all 3 pickups or just one or two?? Looking for some advice and some brands of pickups you use. Any information would be appreciated.

(@greg232)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Also, if you guys do recommend changing the pickups wat strings do you also recommend???

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

I never recommend changing pickups until you've become thoroughly familiar with the ones you have and can very specifically name a characteristic of the pickups that you would like to be different. Then you can intelligently choose a pickup with its characteristics weighted toward what you want. There are no "good" and "bad" pickups. They're all compromises. And they're not the be-all and end-all of tone, either, they're one small link in a chain. Other parts of the chain can have a lot bigger influence on the tone (and can be changed for a lot less money.)

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Good advice from Ricochet. You should be able to get a lot of different tones from that guitar and amp combo, but some additional things to consider next would be: try different string gauges, try different pick materials and thicknesses, put an inexpensive EQ pedal like the Danelectro Fish 'n Chips between guitar and amp.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)