Clear all

Rant, rant

51 Posts
30 Users
0 Likes
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Some good advice there, Arjen.

Just for fun, I thought I'd make a few comparisons between myself and Arjen.

The obvious place to start is the age difference - I'm 51, Arjen's, what, 21? 22? So I've been listening to music for over twice his lifespan - you'd think I'd know at least twice as much, right? Nope, wrong. He's far more receptive to new ideas than I am - I've been listening to the same old stuff for about 25 years or so.

Guitar playing - he's been playing about 4-5 years, I've been playing about 30. So I should be a lot better than him, right? Hmmmm.....I might have a slight edge when it comes to rhythm guitar, but when it comes to improvisation and lead, he's got me beat hands down...although, to be fair to myself, I've only really taken it seriously since I joined GN - and he was here before me!

Theory - he's got me beat hands down, here. He was answering questions from the time I started posting them - and he can read music, I've still never got round to it.

Keyboards - he can play, I can manage a few chords. 'Nuff said.

Creativity - I can come up with something musically interesting now and then, Arjen does it all the time.

Songwriting - I might just shade this one, if it comes to writing lyrics in English - but then again, when it comes to putting music to them, Arjen's far more productive - no two songs are ever the same.

So, even at the tender age Arjen's at, he's got me beat hands down when it comes to making music - and that's before we even go into his recording skills. Mine begin and end with Audacity - I can make my voice sound better by double-tracking it with a bit of delay, but that's about it. Arjen could probably make the Flying Lizards sound like the London Symphony Orchestra.