Clear all

Self criticism...

27 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

so we all have targets,aspirations and inspirations,we all want to make music..for ourselves firstly..but surely for others.

myself.......I find myself increasingly self critical...this leads to increasing disapointment to the point where I leave my guitar(s) for days sometimes.

point being.....

2 years ago I couldn't even hold a guitar comfortably let alone strum something resembling music...now I can start playing (sure open chords) and anyone listening will know what I'm trying to play...sometimes i can 'zone' and even surprise myself....HOWEVER....because all i have to compare is the work of (a)the original artist or (b)an experienced player/teacher....both of whom have years of experience....well I get disheartened to say the least.

only posting this in the hope that it will encourage the total noobies not to give up...the frustration is ongoing and hopefully more experienced players will confirm

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

(@bloos66)
Reputable Member

Hi, look, I think we all feel the same way one time or another, and there have been quite a few other threads along the same lines.

I am adult beginner and have only decided over a year ago to learn playing guitar 'properly', after giving up many times whenever I had to learn barre chords - which I still haven't mastered but I am getting closer. I recently completely embarrassed myself in a guitar shop when I couldn't even play the simplest chords properly, and I was trying out the most expensive guitars.