Clear all

Soloing over slow chord progressions

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have a problem with my playing (well actually, lots of problems but I'll keep this to one point :D )

I seem to solo/improvise far far better over higher tempo, faster changing chord progressions. However, when the chord progression lingers too long on a chord, I struggle to make things sound, well, emotional or interesting.

I studied the purple rain solo in depth this last two weeks to try to help me, and I love it. I looked at what he did on each chord, and how he built and released tension, but can I now emulate it? No :cry:

When I play over slower chord changes, yes, I hit the target notes, and put my arpeggio's in. I make sure I hit my 9ths and 7ths etc but I still don't get the musicality I get when the tempo is upbeat. In reality what I play sounds like it fits, but is way too boring.

Like I said, on faster tempo tracks, I really like what I play. I apply the same methods to both tempo's - but it just seems to be better when the chords shift pretty quickly.

Has anybody else felt this, or do any of you have any tips, or words of wisdom that make help me play slow, emotional solo's well?

Thanks
Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

I don't know how to help. In fact, as my solos on fast chord progressions as my solos on slow chord progressions sound boring :D

Perhaps you should look for inspiration in songs with slow chord progressions. I mean, just listen those type of songs. Sometimes I get ideas when listening different styles.

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

I have a problem with my playing (well actually, lots of problems but I'll keep this to one point :D )