Clear all

Something sort of bad happened

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@sagaciouskjb2)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Well, I've been playing guitar for about 7 months now, and at first I never really enjoyed playing people's stuff, because I really sucked. So, I just started playing my own stuff. Well, now I've gotten back into play other people's things, but I have no idea where to start.

Part of the problem is that I've been playing songs way too easily. It took me about 5 minutes to learn Crazy Train in its entirety yesterday. They're fun to play and all, but it's just boring because there's not much of a challenge there.

The other problem is shooting to high. I tried learning Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing yesterday, and I was totally crapped on (but I'm gettin' it.). These things sort of present me with the problem I had when I first began, and they're sort of discouraging.

So, anyway, I was just wondering what a good way to better estimate and find a song that will still be challenging, but possible for me to play.

(@longdave)
Trusted Member

A number of options:

1. Record yourself, either on tape or video. You can then give a proper opinion on your own abilities (which you can't really do when you're playing). You will also identify weak areas which need tightening up a bit.

2. Think about those songs you really love, and try learning those. Some may be out of your league, in which case they are a good target for improvement, or if they are too easy, try tarting them up a bit, or changing the style or tempo - fiddle with the song and come up with your own 'cover version'.

3. Join or form a band - if you can play its the best way to go. Put your abilities to the test and into a context. If you can learn songs that quickly you'll be gigging in no time!

ReplyQuote
(@call_me_kido)
Estimable Member

One of my favorite expressions is,

"It isnt easy to go from 'Ode to Joy' to 'Little Wing'."