Clear all

Sore fingertips!

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@klangen86)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar on and off for about 5 years now. Mostly acoustic.

My problem is my fingertips still get really sore to the point where I can barely play the next day.
Am I the only one with this problem? I was told this gets better after you've played alot but this doesn't seem to be the case for me!

Anyone have the same problem?

ps. Sorry about my poor english.

(@rahul)
Famed Member

And mine too.

Everyone who plays guitar does get sore fingertips. If you are having lot of pain, then some problems maybe there -

1. Your guitar has a very high action.

2. Your strings maybe completely rusted.

3. Your guitar has severe neck bow.

4. You are putting too much pressure while fretting strings.

Look which one fits with yours. If none, then take some rest while playing two songs. Don't play continuously.

Hope this helps.

ReplyQuote
(@jimjam66)
Trusted Member

I also started playing again recently. I found this video on the D'Addario strings website that talks specifically about finger-pressure. Take a look, maybe the problem is easily curable.

http://www.tothestage.com/MediaDetail.PAGE?ActiveID=1142&IType=1&MediaType=2&MediaId=342

Cheers,

David

ReplyQuote
(@klangen86)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Thanks alot for the fast replies guys! I believe I might be pushing to hard on the strings. That combined with the fact that I play with pretty thick strings. Will follow the advice posted and see how it turns out.

Thanks again

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I usually advice new players not to press too hard. you fret behind the fret wire and not on top of it.
so depreesing a string, no matter what gauge, does not take alot of pressure.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@maliciant)
Reputable Member