Clear all

Sort of a weird guitar + amp question

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@noobie)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

i have been borrowing my buddies fender squier and a piece of a practice amp. i'm not good at guitar because i haven't taken any real lessons and havent had time. when i jump on i normally i just bash out power chords or play some easy 90s riff (nirvana, soundgarden, screaming trees, etc). i have to give it back within the next week and i want to go check out some amps using various low end guitars this week.

Guess the big question is, can you get a low end $100 guitar with humbucker pickups (new on ebay, used on ebay, pawn shop, doesnt matter) to sound decent through a good amp? I was reading a little bit about vox valvetronix and i've seen some good reviews about them on this site so i was thinking of trying it out specifically with some lower end models.

Music I like to ideally play would be considered "grunge" (i know categorizing is silly, but that is only way i know how to describe it) so the amp needs to sound decent/good LOUD, but be a reasonable price.

reason being for wanting low end is i dont really know how much i can dedicate to playing, and i always said if i ever played a "gig" my guitar was going to get destroyed into a million bits so no need buying anything fancy.

if possible was looking to spend somewhere between 2-300 on an amp and about 100 on a guitar. all suggestions and bashes welcome

kinda weird, i know =

plz im a noob

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member

Quote: somewhere between 2-300 on an amp and about 100 on a guitar.