Special trick

40 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@clau20)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi

Today, while I was playing almost anything on my guitar, I tried to figure out some special trick that I could play to be different from the traditional bend, hammer-on, pull-off, tapping and slide.

I found some nice, but I wanted to know if you had some little trick that I could use while I try to improvise?

" First time I heard the music
I thought it was my own
I could feel it in my heartbeat
I could feel it in my bones
... Blame it on the love of Rock'n'Roll! "

(@boxboy)
Noble Member

It's not a trick, but the release bend is a really expressive technique.
A '10 r 8' notation would mean you 'pre'bend the string 2 semitones, strike the string and then release the bend so the tone falls to it's 'natural' position. As a beginner I find them tough because you've got to be thinking so far ahead. :shock:
:)

Don

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

slapping and popping aren't just bass techniques. try them on guitar.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@clau20)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Can you elaborate?

Slapping and popping don't mean nothing to me :oops: English is not my first language as I said many times :wink:

One thing I discover (someone must have discover it before me anyway) and that make a cool sound is;
I play an harmonic and press the string over the nut to create a vibrato on which I did the harmonic

I thought it was my own

ReplyQuote
(@benpari)
Eminent Member

its much easier to just add vibrato to a harmonic with a bar.

I found that you can play pinch harmonics with your left hand only. Like put your first finger on the 2nd fret then hit the 5th fret harmonic with your pinky. I think I saw Dime do this technique.

ReplyQuote
(@clau20)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

its much easier to just add vibrato to a harmonic with a bar.