srv raking technique for ryhthm playing

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

http://www.indyarocks.com/videos/SRV-Rake-Technique-988128

Im having trouble getting this down, the link above is probably the best video lesson i could find, but i still find it difficult to mute all the strings other than just the one i am fretting.

It isnt a problem for single notes, i can whale out on a single note all day long, but when i want to apply this practically and play a riff with this technique, and am constantly and quickly changing the string/fret i want to ring out, it falls apart like a rice paper coffe mug :oops:

has anybody who is fluent with this got any advice that i might find useful?

Thanks, AL

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

when I play that I sweep the strings and palm mute at the same time. I don't up stroke, finding the down stroke more effective.
simply form a chord and sweep or rake, actually an arpeggio , and with that picking hand damp the strings. the rest is timing.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks dogbite - i can see that would work for getting an entirely percussive sound, but what i am after is raking all 6 strings, but having one of the notes ring out, and to be able to manipulate my muting to alter which note/string it is as i play, a bit like some funk/ska players might do?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member