Skip to content
Notifications
Clear all

Stop Noodling!

28 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

Being a teacher I should be able to solve this problem myself but my practices are turning into a noodling fest lately. In all honesty it started the momment I began practicing soloing. Scales just bore the heck out of me and I really do understand their importance. I even try to spice them up a bit with effects (even though I know I shouldn't do that) just to make them sound good...which they still don't by the way! :twisted: I always find myself going back to working on creating my own power chord riffs (which I have MANY now!). I don't even try to learn cover tunes that much any more. I just LOVE the sound of power chords lately! I turn on my Wasabi Distortion and maybe a little phaser and crank it up. I know my rhythms are sounding MUCH better for it even when I practice othr styles of rhythms (Hendrix Style, SRV style, ZZ Top Style, etc).

I wrote down a practice scedule and I start following it and I guess my ADD kicks in and the next thing I know I am playing power chords again! I even didn't play for a day just to leave it for a while.

Part of me posting this is to just vent but another part of me wants to know if this happens to any of you and what solutions have you tried. I know I should just suck it up and do what I need to do but it's easier said than done...Now I know how my students feel when I tell them to do things they don't feel like doing!

Thanks

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Buckle up and hit the books/strings!!!!

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member

I wrote down a practice scedule and I start following it and I guess my ADD kicks in and the next thing I know I am playing power chords again! I even didn't play for a day just to leave it for a while.Thanks