Clear all

string guage on short length guitar

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i have recently practiced a lot of hybrid picking and i genuinely think i will never go back to just soley using a pick.
to help with that i am thinking of using thin guage strings (8's?) so it is easier for my hybrid picking fingers.

However, i mainly use a les paul copy and somebody told me that using thin strings on short scale guitars is a no no.
They didnt say why, and as it was just a conversation in passing with a guy in a guitar shop, i dont know the guy to ask him why.

is he right - or this all just nonsense?
thanks, Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

I agree with him assuming you are using standard tuning. it comes down to tension more than gauge. to start, shorter scales will require less tension than longer scales (given same note, same gauge). furthermore, a light gauge string requires less tension to tune up to the same pitch as compared to a heavier gauge string. if tension is too low there are a number of potential problems and compromises. strings that are too loose are not necessarily easier to pick (wider swing increases positional uncertainty); they can suffer tonally (harmonics shift relative to fundamental); they are more likely to buzz as that wider "swing" is more likely to slap frets; they are easier to inadvertently "bend" out of tune by over-fretting; they cannot support the same dynamics as higher tension strings (which can be played louder, as well as just as softly).

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks gnease - that all makes sense. i think i will stick to thicker strings and keep going until the strength in my fingers increases. :D