Clear all

Suggestions for a practice amp?

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@vers1on)
Topic starter  

Hi everybody! I'm new to these forums.

Anyway, I've been meaning to buy a practice amp for quite a while now (about 3 months). I want to just plop it in my room (or anywhere in the house) with my guitar and just rock out. I have a Yamaha Pacifica with a Seymour Duncan JB-4 in the bridge, and it's held out quite well. I've been playing for about 3 years now, and I've only played with my old Marshall Half Stack with a MG100HDFX (and a puny 10w Ibanez amp that is virtually useless to me) that my friend from college just handed over to me.

Right now I'm looking at the Crate FXT65/XT65R or the FXT120/XT120R, but since I have a bigger amp, I'm leaning towards the 65 watt. I've tried them all at Guitar Center, but I only played them in low volumes. I've also tried the Frontman 25R, the MG30DFX, and the Line 6 Spider II 112/212. The clean tones I can get from the Frontman are the only good things coming from it, the MG30DFX just disgusts me with its distortion, and the Spider II can potentially be an option for me. I play mostly rock, with some occasional Slipknot/Metallica solos, and the Crate and Spider can both be used for any tone. I tried the Crate's effects, and they were mediocre. Same with the Spider. The Crate's distortion is what attracts me, and the Spider 112's price makes me want to buy it.

Well, if those options aren't good, are there any other amps that you guys might recommend? They don't have to have built-in effects and they should be greater than 30 watts.

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Hi, vers1on, welcome to GN.
Well, it's a fact of life that the difference in volume between two amps with similar specs (speakers, etc.), but one having 65 wats and the other having 100W will be negligible. To double the volume of a 65W amp, you'd need one with 650W - yes, 10 times the output!