Clear all

Teacher required???

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@saint_duud)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for a few years, and I've never had a teacher. My dad tried to teach me once when I wasn't interested, and that was it, and I don't really plan on taking lessons. Is that a terrible call? I want to keep getting better (enough to play at least semi-professionally someday), and I'm trying to learn more about music theory, but I always seem to learn best on my own.

Any opinions? Advice?

(@progressions)
Reputable Member

It's definitely possible to be completely self-taught and become an excellent guitarist, but I'd still recommend getting a teacher. There are lots of fundamentals you can overlook if you're learning on your own, and you may not know it but years down the road you could realize that you're missing some vital pieces of learning.

After taking a few lessons from a friend in my senior year of high school, I basically taught myself the rest of the way and, twenty years later, I'm realizing what I missed out on and the solid, fundamental parts of playing, that would have made me a MUCH better player a long time ago, if I'd only learned them when I was starting out.

Little things like the positions of your hands and fingers, the way you practice and learn rhythm, how you pick, you can build up habits early on that don't help you, but with a good instructor you can learn the fundamentals that will make a big difference for however long you play.

Isaac

Isaac Priestley: World Racketeering Squad
http://www.progressions.org/
http://www.youtube.com/worldracketeer

ReplyQuote
(@rickyb)
Eminent Member