Clear all

The Bad Thing About Being Self Taught

36 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@blueline)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

One of the bad things about being self taught is that you hit a plateau and tend to stay there for a long time. At least this has been my experience. Although I've gotten much better at things, my musical vocabulary has not grown much in the past year. I've seen improvement in my ability to play songs that challenged me a short time ago. By learning/playing scales, I've gained better speed/dexterity and I'm learning to solo. That in and of itself is very satisfying because I thought I'd never get there.

However, I feel like I'm stuck. I've hit a plateau and I'm having a hard time moving. I recently wrote a basic song on the piano. I'm trying to put a melody over it and I'm having a real difficult time. I know the reason is because I've not yet learned how to be imaginative in creating phrases. This is limited by my lack of vocabulary.

I'm not looking to put 5 or 6 licks together. The problem is I've got things I want to say (on the guitar) but I can't form the words yet. I'm struggling with it and its getting frustrating.

For laughs, I'll ask the silly question- Anyone else go/going through this? :lol:

What's more frustrating is that I know if I had a teacher, I'd be further along. But that's not an option right now. Arggghhh

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

If a teacher isn't an option now, what about finding some other folks to play with? You'll learn a lot from playing in a band, whether it's a formal group or just folks getting together to jam a bit.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member