Notifications
Clear all

The Bad Thing About Being Self Taught

36 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member

Id like to come back to the notion of vocabulary. The problem with learning scales is that one is left with a context or structure for lead playing, but lacking the specific terms of expression--just like having syntax and verb conjugation patterns down in a foreign language without the practical ability to go down to the corner and order a beer. :oops:

The vocabulary of guitar expression is licks. That's how one communicates. I too am a dedicated rhythm player, but nothing advances a guitar player like learning licks. They don't have to shredding licks, or even deep bluesy licks, but they have to be there for a guitarist to properly communicate. Learning some licks around chords in open positions broke me out of my last slump.

When I get stuck, I think about someone I admire. I then try to learn a few of that person's signature licks by heart. This usually breaks me out of whatever slump I'm in. I'm about to go after Clarence White, and I hope to come home with a lick or two! 8) Don't be reluctant to copy--it's how one learns to be!

Think also about partial chords. As an acoustic strummer, it was a revelation to me to find that I didn't always have to play five or six strings.

ReplyQuote
(@stellabloo)
Estimable Member

At the end of the day I feel this, I'll play guitar and will always own at least one till the day I die. Anything else beyond that is gravy. If i find a band and play great. If we get gigs, great. If I get asked to record great. If I only play around the house and sitting in my porch with a few friends great too. I'm happy with just 'being'.
:)