the Freeze

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
 seed
(@seed)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

WOW, talk about an issue that has been haunting me for a long time. Not much technical advise may be requested, but check out this scenario. My practice routine is to utilize method books, and pick 2 tunes related to the method I am studying. Once I am comfortable playing with the tune with the CD, I break out my metronome and record the tune to hear how it sounds a day or two later. After this routine, I adjust things accordingly, note the strong and weak parts in my recording and continue to flush out the tune. That aside for the time being, I seem to what I call 'Freeze' when I need the chops, licks and runs in a loose jam, and I forget everything, all of it, and revert to ideas that have no spice. I guess to compare it, it would be like writers block to a novelist. Feeling defeated I go back to my tapes and improvise off the recordings that I made, feeling more prepared going back to the jams, i freeze again. Tough spot to be in...any ideas?

"What's the point of callin' shots;
This cue ain't straight in line.
Cue ball's made of styrofoam
And no one's got the time." (Garcia/Hunter)

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Studying and jamming are two separate things as you already know. Studying's great, increasing knowledge, chops, all that, but you have to know when to let it go, and that's usually when you're jamming or sometimes, even when you're playing live in some other situation. Performing, jamming; it's from a different part of your brain almost and after awhile you get used to the difference and appreciate each as its own thing; one can't really be pushed into another.