Clear all

Thinking about going all acoustic.

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@djdubb)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

The past couple of months I have learned 6 Mississippi John Hurt songs, and Dust Broom all which I got the courage to sing finally, I have been enjoying myself. I had about 4 good months of guitar peace, now I feel unhappy about my eletric playing. It's like every 4 months or so I have to go through some kind of guitar crisis, maybe because I don't have a teacher. I am thinking about forgetting about the songs I started learning with like House of Rising Son, Wild World, Dust in the Wind, etc. to focus on the songs I can sing and stricly blues gutiar songs. Now that I started singing it doesn't feel the same to just play to backing tracks, etc. with no words. It does help that I have spent a lot of money on electric guitar gear.
I think I would more happy playing and singing 30 blues songs very well, than playing 60 songs sloppy. But I read were Leadbelly had 400 songs in his repertoire! Would forgetting my old songs be a waste of practice time from the past? Any advice would be helpful!

"Failure is the key to success" Lee Wen; Champ vs Champ

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

It's like a nice meal. You have the "main dish" and then all the little side dishes. No, you don't have to eat all the side dishes but, it does help fill your appetite.

ReplyQuote
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

'Dont know why you cant do both. You'll most likely bounce back and forth between the two in your lifetime. I went through the same thing with the Eric Clapton unplugged album.

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
(@prndl)
Reputable Member

It does [not] help that I have spent a lot of money on electric guitar gear.
I think that's fine, especially if you look at the album cover --- Albert King and SRV.