Clear all

Using .008's

90 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
18.8 K Views
(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

Who said light strings are not good for blues and slide? Billy Gibbons uses .07's so that about blows those statements out of the water. Strings are a preference thing and that is about it. Sure it's easier to bend certain strings and some sound longer but you can hand me a big jazz box with .13 round wounds and with in five minutes I'd be perfectly comfortable with it and have an idea of whats going to work and how much effort it will take.

ReplyQuote
 Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Hmm extra light strings, easier to bend, but not so good for slide? I dunno, Im new to this, never tried other than standard strings. I like blues so would extra lights be no good for that? Strings are a mystery to me!

It's all how you like playing. For me...now this is for ME, mind you...I just can't get the taste from my fingers out of heavy gauge sets. My bends stop short, my vibrato doesn't reach the right bookends, and the harmonics just don't get to the top of the ladder. But that's ME, talkin' here. For the life of me I can't even think of a .13 as a high E...unless I'm around a campfire trying Koom Bayh Ah and I want Bigfoot to hear it! :roll:

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Cat, I'm just curious.....you buy strings in bulk, yes? So how much do you actually pay per set? Don't worry about posting it in Australian Dollars, there are plenty of free currency converters on the 'net.

I know professional gigging musicians have new strings for every gig....must be hard work being Keef's (to take a random example) roadie, he uses anything up to 10 guitars per gig.