Notifications
Clear all

Virtuoso players: simultaneously inspiring and infuriating

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@esjael616)
Topic starter  

I've been playing for 22 years. There are times when I feel really happy with what I can do on a guitar. I've made it a personal policy never to compare myself as a guitarist to anyone else; this is not a competition, it's music. However, I have to admit that when I listen to Robert Fripp or Tosin Abasi or other players at that level, I find myself feeling both super motivated to play and also discouraged from ever picking up my axe again. I mean seriously, after watching players like that perform, I feel like I've just plain missed the boat as a musician. It's like I should have been practicing at least three times as hard for the past decade to be even a tenth as amazing as these guys are, so really, what's so great about what I'm doing?
Has anyone else experienced this? If so, how do you identify what your own unique strengths are and build upon them, instead of feeling totally overwhelmed? Any insight would be helpful. Thanks.

(@alangreen)

Don't forget that these people play all day. Every day. And then they go on stage and play it at night. If you did the same....

I find the trick with virtuoso players is to see what it is they do that I need to build into my technique. Simply playing fast isn't an end in itself.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

Wherever you go and whatever you do
there will always be somebody better than you

But if you think that fact is a curse,
look around there's always somebody worse.

(I just made that up)