Clear all

Was it a good idea?

14 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@wattsiepoops)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Since I started playing guitar nearly 2 years ago i have been teaching myself, whic i thought was the best way as paying for lessons as a student is not really feasible. But some of my friends have had lessons and have been playing for about half the time i have and are at the stage i am, the only difference is i have developed my own techniques and am slightly ahead in the song writing area than them. Was that a good idea, or are lessons an investment?

David Watts
Takamine G-Series - £229
Fender STD American Telecaster (Cola Red) - £849
Vox 15watt AMP (Valve pre amp) - £129
Acoustic/Electric Rhythm and Lead (Occasionally) Southport Elim Youth Band
Former Aftershock 24/7 Rhythm Guitarist (Band split)

(@welgill)

Just starting guitar but I play several other instruments all self taught but one... and that one was esier to learn thanks to instruction.
I will be getting guitar lessons its the best way to go.

ReplyQuote
(@wattsiepoops)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Well, i havnt had professional lessons, but have had pointers and tips from friends who play guitar, and i am in a band now which is making me improve rapidly. The style my band focuses on is Punk and Acid. And i am fairly compotent at those. I have, by myself, started developing my acoustic skills, you know, chords and scales and stuff, and that is coming across quite nicely, and my song writing is improving every time i try to write, i feel happy with my progress in playing guitar, just that people with lessons professionaly seem to be getting to the skill stage that i am at in half the time, but lack a decent technique, i have to admit, a lot of my time practacing has been used to develop my technique, and at the moment it is far from perfect, but it is decent enough, compared to the people who have had professional lessons.