Skip to content
What Strings Do You...

Notifications
Clear all

What Strings Do You Use On Your Les Paul?

46 Posts
31 Users
0 Likes
(@hummerlein)
Estimable Member

I just use d'arddio because it seems like the standard cheap string. Elixirs and stuff are way too expensive for me, especially if I happen to break a string.

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

OK, OK. I'll go with some gibsons. 10's?

I have an '82' and won't go over 10's because it's a set neck.

ReplyQuote
(@crank-n-jam)
Noble Member

I also use Gibson Brite Wires. I use 10's. I've also got some Gibson strings designed for humbucker pickups but haven't strung them up yet.

Jason

"Rock And Roll Ain't Noise Pollution"

ReplyQuote
(@lacrymosa)

I don't own a LP. I never will. I don't really like them :o

My Recordings

ReplyQuote
(@mikey)
Reputable Member

I asked this very same question when I was a raw newbie. Now I'm a slightly under done newbie.

I like the D'Adds and the Dean Markley's Blue Steels. As for the size I like 9's a tad better than 10's because I find them easier to bend near the nut. Maybe when I get more strength in my fingers I'll move exclusively to 10's.

But I am always open to trying a new brand, and you should be also. (Will have to remeber the Gibs Brite Wires when my current box runs down)

Working in NYC you can spend $6.50 for a tuna fish sandwich for lunch, $8 if you want to wash it down with something. $4 bucks isn't much to ask for in the quest for your tone. Strings last a lot longer than a tuna fish sandwich anyway.

Buy a variety, take notes on everything from break in period, to initial reaction to the sound, to feel, to the length of service. My own experience is that there were very minor differences between the top brands. There was one brand that I took off after just a few days because I felt that they were just plain awful. (Name to withheld as to not prejudgidice your own findings.) As always, enjoy the journey in your search.

Michael