what to do after high school?

42 Posts
25 Users
0 Likes
10 K Views
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

???My son is a sophomore in high school. Is a self taught guitarist. Not just saying this because he's my son, but is has a naturaly raw talent. He's very interested in pursuing an education in music and possibly use this talent to have a career as a guitarist. He's thought about studio work, but we've heard about so many drawbacks in this area. Would like to attend a state school, but they all seem to gear toward classical guitar. Now he can play "Classical Gas" but I don't think that's what they have in mind. HIs playing style in more on the lines of David Gilmour, Jimmie Hendrix, etc. What advice could you give us to help him start planning for after high school.  He shouldn't have any problems being accepted to a state school and possibly receiving scholarships as he maintains a 4.0 GPA consistently and has won the Band Diredtors Award for the music student in the entire school showing the most talent and potential.  Help! I always told my boys to find something you're good at and figure out how to make a living at it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Sorry so long! I tend to ramble.

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

Hi Laura;

There is a new lesson posted listing a lot of Music Schools, as well as some things to consider.

At this point, the best thing to do it to play with others as much as possible.  Look for local jams and bands looking for guitarists.  This will give your son the opportunity to meet others in the business, and learn more about this industry.

Good Luck!
-Laz

ReplyQuote
 Deva
(@deva)

Why are you planning on a state school already? I'd say encourage a career that DOESN'T involve music, and then have him pursue guitar as a hobby. If he's very good, he'll know what to do. My dad has a saying, "Try not to have a career solely in the arts unless you know you can get rich."

ReplyQuote
(@nycxdanny)