what to do after high school?

42 Posts
25 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Hello Laura,
If your son is truly interested in making a living as a musician I would suggest you son does not pursue an education in  music (as you stated in your post) but persue an education in the music business instead. There is a difference. A "state school" will focus on art (which has nothing to do with making a living), while a good music school will focus on making a living in the business. There are many to chose from but you may not find one near your home. Schools like MI or LAMA in Los Angeles or Berklee are great choices in the states. The first two would probably be considered vocational schools (vocation is the key word) the latter, a college. The goals of these schools are to prepare the students to survive in the biz. Musicians must wear many hats to make ends meet. The ones that make a living at guitar usually do studio work, tours, teach. I know very few musicians who only do studio stuff. I think becoming a pro guitarist is a good career choice. Approach education the same way you would for any other career, check what the track records are for the graduates of each and every school. You will find that the Universities have poor track records.

ReplyQuote
(@teen_guitarist)

>:(I may only be 14, but I know one thing's for sure: I'd rather live a poor life filled with music than a rich life wihtout it. Why are adults so cynical about dreams? Education, education, education. What good does it do if it makes your life miserably? If all the famous singers in the world believed the people who said "You'll never make it" there wouldn't be any famous singers! As far as I'm concerned, to hell with math and science, I'm going to do what I love in life and if I don't "make it" I couldn't care less, I'll be happy.