Clear all

When will I be good enough to perform?

29 Posts
18 Users
0 Likes
(@jonsi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for two years now (plus a couple of years with teacher before I turned teenager) and I write a lot of songs. I have a problem - I can't play my songs without playing wrong. Even the simplest ones. Especially not when someone is listening.

A couple of months ago I recorded a song. I think I recorded it over 100 times (It's true!) before I made it. That's not good...

So, how do I overcome this problem?

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Relax!!! And breathe . Go to Jamie Andreas site http://www.guitarprinciples.com/
He's got lot's of advice on not tensing up when you play.

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Sounds as if you suffer from stagefright -- something that applies both to performance and recording. You need to build some confidence and also understand that others -- especially non-musicians -- are not nearly as critical of your playing as are you. You simply need to get used to playing in front of people and a recorder. The recording issue is the easier to address. Just make it a habit to record much of the time you practice. Soon you will begin to get used to the fact that it's always there, plus you will benefit from two things: You will get to review your playing in a more critical fashion, which will allow you to zero in on needed improvements. Secondly, you will capture some real gems every once in a while -- examples of your playing you will like and enjoy. This is good for confidence.